Dancing the night away…

Ok…so I”m a bit crazy about dancing. Always have been. Growing up, I’d pull the shades down in my bedroom and dance to any anything and everything, groove to a song in the shower, and to this day, I can’t sit still when a good beat comes on the radio. I can’t help it! Music is in my DNA and I just love it, Love It, LOVE IT!

That said, I never really did anything about it. Sure I took some dance classes growing up – classic ballet, a little tap, Irish clogging, and even some modern jazz as I got older – but I didn’t get serious about my dancing until I was in college. At that point, I started taking private classes at a local dance studio, studying as hard as I could between work and classes to pull together a routine for the Miss Maine competition a few years ago. After that, it became extremely difficult to find group adult classes, and I knew that for me it would turn into a hobbie, and I was cool with that.

That’s when I discovered West Coast Swing. One of my bridesmaids, Lisette, turned me on the idea, and I went to my first class as a senior in college to check it out and see what it was all about. Turns out I loved it! It turned into something I really looked forward to.

Well, this  last year it turned into something bigger. I started taking classes more frequently, even took a few private lessons with my instructor to work on a couple technical things I wasn’t picking up in group classes. With the house and the wedding, things really got off track for me, but I resorted back to my previous tactic of rehearsing in the bedroom and the shower whenever I could. 🙂

Long story shorter (as I’m breaking my rule for clients on the 400-word blog post), this weekend all my hard work and the fun I was having collided as I competed in my first West Coast Swing Dance event:  the 2011 Boston Dance Challenge. I was also helping volunteer at the event and worked the registration desk, so it was nearly impossible to find time to get nervous.  Good thing!  I competed in a group of probably 30-40 people (leaders and followers combined), and came out in 7th place!  Not to shabby for my first West Coast competition, and I can’t wait to do it again! Brian came to watch me for the first time, and I was really glad to have him there to support me.

Hopefully there will be some video clips soon, but for now, here are a few pictures (courtesy of Sanderling Photography by Sam Westover).

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Packing 101 «

Leave a Reply

